About

Based very loosely on the Review Stalker user script, this script has been rewritten several times since then. Its purpose is to be a one-stop pinned tab, always checking for review opportunities on main and meta as aggressively as is useful between multiple sites you configure.

Usage

Switching to this tab should only be necessary when you see that it has the site's usual favicon, and when you do switch, the review will already be loaded. If there's more than one review queue with items for you, the others will be loaded in new tabs (although there is an option to force loading all queues in a single tab sequentially). The script will avoid getting stuck on stale review items by waiting an hour (by default) and continuing with the next site in rotation; it will also continue rotation after 15 seconds once a queue is empty or you've reached your limit in it. Normal rotation timing is such that all sites are visited every 5 minutes by default. Every so often (roughly every hour, by default), the script will go through per-site meta queues as well.

For performance reasons, the script will recycle its tab every so often by opening a new tab and closing the old one. By default, this is every 500 page loads. On my somewhat creaky machine, this is fine; it's difficult to imagine needing to set it lower, but if you want to recycle only every 2000 or 5000, you can try that.

If you're not going to do reviews for a while, you can use the Pause button the script adds to avoid pulling in reviews you won't handle.

Screenshots

RSR header with recycle count, meta cycle, and settings circled The red circle surrounds the meta cycle indicator; blue is for the tab history length and its progress toward recycling; greeny-teal is the Settings button. Not circled: the version info and pause button.

RSR Settings dialog for 1.8.25 These settings should be fairly self-explanatory, but any that could be confusing have a tooltip.

Installation

Install Review Stalker Reloaded. (Installing from the link will get you secure updates with at least Greasemonkey.)

Once installed, visit each of your usual review pages (/review) once in the order you wish the script to run through them. Then leave a tab open with one of them loaded and let it do its thing.

(To remove a site from the list, log out or open a private window so you don't have review privileges, then visit the review page from there.)

Known Issues

  • Doesn't run on discuss.area51.

Version History

v1.4.06: First public release.
v1.4.07: Hide header on a site without review privileges, where it won't load pages anyway.
v1.5.06: Refactored and tweaked to allow SO more effectively as well as closing the tab leaks from having more than one queue available at a time.
v1.5.07: Bugfix.
v1.5.08: Don't auto-close tabs if they were opened with something other than the review page or a queue.
v1.5.12: Some meta-load bugfixes and changing default interval.
v1.5.13: Fixed some auto-close glitches.
v1.5.14: Another meta-open bugfix.
v1.5.15: Handling docs-beta merge in a somewhat less than graceful fashion.
v1.5.23: Handling site removals, empty additions, and dead sites more gracefully. Also, SO and MSO are considered separately, and includes are tweaked to fit better.
v1.5.24: Empty filtered queues are properly considered empty.
v1.5.26: Handle site removals and error pages still more gracefully.
v1.6.11: Proper config dialog with all current settings.
v1.6.25: Nice icon buttons.
v1.6.26: Typo fix.
v1.6.38: Show current list of sites in Settings; more consistent timing.
v1.6.41: Avoid opening duplicate tabs.
v1.6.42: Quick fix for SE's TLS switchover on child metas. (Expect another fix when the domain scheme changes in 6-8 weeks.)
v1.7.02: Allow ignoring certain queues on certain sites.
v1.7.05: Clean up a few minor corner cases with Docs and spurious alerts.
v1.8.25: Option to force all queues to open in the same tab.
v1.8.28: No more special-casing for SO/MSO; staleness check resets after queue actions; fixed glitch with empty queue sometimes reloading repeatedly.
v1.8.32: Fixed site-meta handling for new meta scheme.
v1.8.33: One more bugfix for compat.
v1.8.49: Lots of assorted bugfixes.
v1.8.51: ru/pt/es SO subdomain support.
v1.9.00: Handle HTTPS more correctly, ignore history pages and ignored queues better, allow turning off recycling, upgrade FontAwesome, handle various error states better.
v1.9.01: Fixed regression on ru/pt/es SO metas.

  • For me, it doesn't work for meta.stackoverflow.com/review - it will redirect me to http://review if it is the first site I add; otherwise, it will redirect automatically to the first added site. FF 47.0.1 on Mac, with Greasemonkey. – Glorfindel Jul 22 '16 at 10:46
  • @Glorfindel, thanks for the report! I'll dig into that as soon as I can. – Nathan Tuggy Jul 22 '16 at 16:19
  • @Glorfindel: I believe I've gotten the script to do what it should be doing in all cases (sending you through the list of sites as available, and never haring off in random directions, nor treating MSO as a site meta). – Nathan Tuggy Jul 22 '16 at 23:33
  • I'm having trouble connecting to your web server, is your script available elsewhere in any repository? – JohnB Jul 26 '16 at 4:09
  • @JohnB: Unfortunately, no, but the site is back up. – Nathan Tuggy Jul 28 '16 at 0:55
  • @Gallifreyan: OK, strike those last, I've bit the bullet at last and implemented a proper options dialog. – Nathan Tuggy Jan 29 '17 at 0:45
  • Is it ok that the app opens a heck of a lot of review tabs? I left one tab open, and 15 minutes later there were 20. Which setting is this related to? – Gallifreyan Feb 1 '17 at 17:09
  • 1
    @Gallifreyan: Fixed now. ;) – Nathan Tuggy Feb 5 '17 at 1:52
  • Is there a way I can configure this to ignore a specific type of review queue (e.g. close votes)? Also it generates multiple tabs which are not pinned; I don't know if this is intentional – suomynonA Mar 7 '17 at 0:34
  • @suomynonA: Not yet. I can look into what that would take, though. – Nathan Tuggy Mar 7 '17 at 0:35
  • Maybe that wouldn't allow the script to redirect to /^https?://[^\.]*\.?whatever\.stackexchange\.com/review/close* ? Don't know how to write that – suomynonA Mar 7 '17 at 1:35
  • 1
    @suomynonA: I think what I ended up with is pretty decent; enter plain domain*/review/*queue (e.g. ell.stackexchange.com/review/low-quality-posts) in a comma-separated list and it will leave those out of its auto-navigation. (By the way, the extra tabs are intentional, or at least quite difficult to avoid in a way that's desirable, but I'm working on a possibility for cutting those down further.) – Nathan Tuggy Mar 11 '17 at 7:42
  • @NathanTuggy Seems good, thanks! – suomynonA Mar 12 '17 at 5:47
  • @suomynonA: New option to suppress any new tabs (except recycling the pinned tab, of course). – Nathan Tuggy Mar 14 '17 at 23:33
  • 1
    @СашаЧерных: Should be fixed now. Dumb mistake on my part. – Nathan Tuggy Dec 2 at 0:28

The "recycle tab" feature seems to be broken. It opens a new tab, but it doesn't close the old one. This leads to an exponential growth in the number of tabs until at some point StackExchange's rate limit stops it. At that point, the script of course doesn't work at all anymore.

  • 1
    Hmm, never seen this. What browser are you using? – Nathan Tuggy Nov 16 '17 at 15:38
  • Chrome on Windows 7. A relatively new version (if it didn't update itself, a few weeks old). – Fabian Röling Nov 16 '17 at 21:22
  • Sorry about this: I somehow forgot to come back and let you know when I added a feature to help cope with this better. Current version allows you to set the recycle number to -1 to disable recycling in userscript managers that don't remember that the original tab was script-opened and forbid closing it. – Nathan Tuggy Dec 1 at 23:49

Something caused it for me to keep opening "first posts", even when it's empty. It also doesn't go back to the overview. Reinstalling did not fix it, factory reset and then setting all settings again did fix it.

I definitely did complicated things with it, like restarting Chrome with a review tab open, Windows hibernation, pausing and resuming the script in different states, etc. Will update this if it happens again and I can narrow down the cause.

  • It happened again. It seems that when I set "Seconds between checks to move on from an empty queue" to 0, it constantly reloads any review item (<1s) and if I set it to a positive number, it opens "first posts" all the time. – Fabian Röling Jan 4 at 12:31
  • Does it open first posts constantly, or just whenever it reloads on its usual schedule? What happens if you go to the overview page yourself before it reloads? Or if that's normally what you do, what happens if you wait it out? – Nathan Tuggy Jan 4 at 16:22
  • Also, do you have a filter set on First Posts? The script has no logic to detect a queue with items that are all filtered out, so it will just load it every pass, then move on as normal when it finds it empty. – Nathan Tuggy Jan 4 at 17:13
  • Opens first posts constantly. My schedule is set to 9 seconds and it's hard to even hit the configuration button. Clicking manually also doesn't help. No filter. – Fabian Röling Jan 4 at 17:39

feature_request(customization): ignoring specific types of review


1. Summary

It would be nice, if would be option — ignore some types of review.


2. Argumentation

  1. user can have gold badges for some review types and doesn't have badges for another types
  2. user can more prefer some types of review, than others

3. Example

I want to ignore Close Votes and Low Quality Posts:

(Sorry for Russian, I have high reputation only for Russian Stack Overflow)

Ignore examples


4. Do not offer

  1. Please, do not offer, that user must check all review types, even those in which user has gold badges. Users may want some benefit to themselves, not just the community.
  • 1
    Already exists: open settings, type the queue URL snippets into the "Queues to ignore" box separated by commas (e.g., ru.stackoverflow.com/review/low-quality-posts,ru.stackoverflow.com/review/close). – Nathan Tuggy Apr 26 at 5:40
  • @NathanTuggy, status: not fixed for me. I paste your text → Save → I get popup List of review queues is invalid! → I still get posts with unexpected review types. Demonstration. Firefox Quantum 59.0.2 (64-bit), Tampermonkey 4.6.5757, Review Stalker Reloader 1.8.49. Thanks. – Саша Черных Apr 26 at 6:03
  • 1
    OK, try installing the latest script version that I just uploaded and try again; ru/pt/es SO versions weren't well-supported (and in fact may still have bugs, I'm not sure). – Nathan Tuggy Apr 26 at 6:12
  • @NathanTuggy, status: another problem for me. I open ru.meta.stackoverflow.com/review → this page reload 12 times → ru.meta.stackoverflow.com/review open → Review Stalker Reloaded doesn't work for ru.meta.stackoverflow.com/review. my settings. Previous problem fixed for me in 1.8.50. Thanks. – Саша Черных Apr 26 at 10:02
  • @NathanTuggy, ping. Thanks. – Саша Черных Apr 29 at 4:29
  • Sorry for the delay; 1.8.51 should fix this by generating ru/pt/es meta URLs better. – Nathan Tuggy May 1 at 10:07
  • @NathanTuggy, status: not fixed for me in 1.8.51. Same problem as in my previous comment. Thanks. – Саша Черных May 1 at 12:19
  • 1
    Another long delay for no good reason, but I think 1.8.52 may fix the basic issue. Unfortunately, looking at the script in more depth also shows me that there will likely be all manner of other problems in regular use, given the amount of plain-text sniffing the script does that will break with Russian error/info messages. If you want to, you can edit the script to fill in the right messages; you'll need to edit the functions BCapped (out of reviews for the day), BEmpty (nothing in the queue for you), and BProcessed (this review entry has already been finished as far as you're concerned). – Nathan Tuggy May 11 at 8:32
  • @NathanTuggy, Status: Another problem for me in 1.8.52 — open unexpected tabs. Steps to reproduce I enable Review Stalker Reloader → I open ru.stackoverflow.com/review page → page refresh → I get, for example, new first post. Expected behavior Open 1 tab with first post. Actual behavior Open 2 tabs: expected, with first post of new user and unexpected — “queues ended”. my configuration. Thanks. – Саша Черных May 14 at 14:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .